Visit England 5 Star Visit England Gold Award
01305 852967

Five stars for all reviews for The Old Dairy!!

“A fabulous Christmas…” *****stars

Reviewed January 5, 2015

We spent Christmas at the Old Dairy and had such a wonderful time. The Dairy is even more spacious and well-equipped than the photos on the website suggest. The kitchen includes a full-sized dishwasher with enough plates, cups, glasses and cutlery to fill it (unusual in accommodation for two in my experience); a high-quality washing machine; and sophisticated oven and hob (the only downside to the oven was working out which of the many functions to use to roast the turkey while trying to make the best of the glorious Christmas weather!). The location is perfect with an excellent village shop close by and several pubs within a reasonable distance, yet is remote enough to spot lots of wildlife (sitting in bed drinking morning tea and watching a doe with two fawns cross the field was the highlight). There are several excellent walks from the door (unfortunately the weather on Boxing Day was wet and windy, but didn’t spoil our walk to Lulworth) and many other attractions nearby (we can recommend Monkeyworld for Christmas Eve: it was deserted!) Even with the high ceiling, the dairy is warm and cosy. Jane kindly provided a Christmas tree in addition to the Victoria sponge and scones, and it made for a perfect week. Thoroughly recommended. We’ll be back, hopefully when the days are longer, and there’s more daylight to spend outside.

 

“Holiday heaven!” *****stars

Reviewed September 21, 2014

We have just returned from our second blissful stay at the Old Dairy. The sun was shining when we arrived so we made good use of the steamer chairs to soak up a few rays and managed to do so on a couple of other days, too. The Old Dairy was up to its usual impeccable standard, thanks to Jane, including the delicious cream tea and Victoria sponge cake. The accommodation is beautifully clean, spacious and very comfortable…we were soon in holiday mode. The property is a short walk from Knighton Heath and Winfrith Nature Reserve which are well worth a visit. The Old Dairy is in such a great location for exploring Dorset, I’m sure we will visit again.

 

“Colour me relaxed.” *****stars

Reviewed June 29, 2014

Jane, who owns and manages The Old Dairy, welcomed us warmly with cake and scones that she left for us on arrival. Jane has not only finished The Old Dairy to a very high spec but she has also put a lot of effort into making it an enjoyable, relaxing place to hang your hat for the length of your stay. Jane was always available at the end of the phone, should there be any problems, but the cottage was so well prepared and maintained that there was no need. The OLD Dairy is wonderfully situated within easy reach of some of the most stunning scenery that England has to offer and the locals there are some of the nicest and quirkiest people you could hope to meet. We shall certainly be visiting there again and would not hesitate in recommending it to friends or family.

 

“A luxury holiday home.” *****stars

Reviewed June 19, 2014

The Old Dairy is a beautifully converted property developed with great care to provide a luxurious and fabulous holiday home. Everything you could possibly need has been provided and Jane is a very thoughtful host which made our stay extra special. It’s in a great location for accessing places to visit and also it’s equally lovely to just spend time relaxing and taking in the views and passing wildlife. There is a lovely pub within walking distance. Durdle Door and Lulworth Cove are an easy walk away. We loved it so much we have booked again for 2014.

 

“Wonderful” *****stars

Reviewed November 29, 2013 .The Old Dairy is a fantastic choice. Cottage itself – beautiful and also containing everything you could possibly need. Very secluded. Wonderful views and even friendly local sheep and chickens! Great shower facilities and luxurious bedding. Location – beautiful part of the world. Secluded location but also close to key amenities (for example a local and well-appointed post office). Easy to find with ample parking. Warm welcome – we were staying there for our wedding at nearby Lulworth castle (something worth visiting if you stay here) and arrived to a card and bottle of champagne. A fantastic way to start our married life together. Thank you Jane (the owner) for being so accommodating. We look forward to returning in the future.

 

An Absolute Gem” *****stars

Reviewed July 17, 2013

The first week of our four week visit to the UK was spent here at The Old Dairy in the heart of Thomas Hardy country. We found that it set the bar impossibly high for any subsequent accommodation and it remains the highlight of a wonderful holiday. Jane has thought of everything in the design and fit out of this cosy retreat. It was the perfect base for exploring the County’s many attractions. We ventured as far as Portsmouth and Bath and as near as Weymouth and Lulworth Cove on our day trips. T E Lawrence’s house just down the road was a real surprise and exploring the settings for Hardy’s novels, a rare treat. Having spent 24 hours in an aeroplane and then driving down from Heathrow, what a perfect delight it was to be greeted like old friends and later to tuck into Jane’s homemade scones and strawberry jam. The Old Dairy is exceptional for its level of comfort and style, with every possible appointment or appliance you might hope to find. To wake up with that wonderful outlook onto open fields was the icing on the cake.

 

“Grand Designs don’t do better than this!” *****stars

Reviewed April 15, 2013

What a superb building, the use of so much glass and oak make you feel the sun is shining on the cloudiest of days. The Old Dairy has a wonderful feeling of space and yet always felt warm and cosy, even with the near zero temperatures we had for all of our Easter holiday. All the fittings are of highest quality, obviously no expense spared. The owner, who lives next door, was very friendly and welcoming, without being intrusive. The Old Dairy has its own driveway from the road and faces out over open fields, away from the owner’s house, and so is very private. We certainly hope to return next year.

 

“Superb self-catering property” *****stars

Reviewed April 15, 2013

We have just had a marvellous week in this spotlessly clean property situated in lovely quiet surroundings. The Old Dairy is bright and open-plan and has a beautiful wood and stone interior … a delight on the eye. The easily adjustable central heating with loads of constant hot water made it lovely and warm and very comfortable indoors. The huge windows flood the interior with light and provide lovely uninterrupted views of the fields and countryside beyond and made it such a joy to return to at the end of a day’s walking/sightseeing. We were lucky enough to see two deer in the field right outside and many buzzards and pheasants. We also enjoyed observing the many birds on the nut feeder. Jane was bottle rearing two adorable lambs at the time of our visit and she also has chickens an amazingly well-behaved black labrador dog and a beautiful cat and they all added great pleasure to our stay. The Old Dairy is situated on a lovely quiet lane and very handy for the local shop in the village of Winfrith Newburgh. The shop is well worth visiting and has a lovely selection of fresh bread and pastries delivered daily and a very friendly service. There are many beauty spots and places of interest only a very short drive away and the views along the coastal path are simply amazing. Very handy for visiting Durdle Door. Thank you Jane for providing a fantastic property and for all your help, care and attention. We hope to return.

 

“Simply wonderful!” ***** stars

Reviewed April 15, 2013

My wife and I had a fantastic break at The Old Dairy. The location is excellent with peaceful surroundings, a short drive to Lulworth Cove and Durdle Door, and a very short walk to a very welcoming country pub. The Old Dairy itself is a superb beautiful building finished to the highest standard. It’s wonderful to wake up to look out over the countryside with deer and pheasants walking by. We were welcomed on arrival by some fantastic homemade scones and shortly after the owner Jane arrived to welcome us personally – thank you again Jane for letting us feed the lambs, a very cute and great highlight to the weekend. If you want to get away for a quiet weekend in superb surroundings The Old Dairy is the place for you. I cannot recommend it high enough.